Back The 7 Virtues of Mithraism

These are my 7 Virtues of Mithraism.

Many religions have their core set of ideals so I thought that we as Mithraists should have our own as well.

Judaism and Christianity have The 10 Commandments.

Islam has The 5 Pillars.

Buddhism has The 4 Noble Truths.

Asatru and Odinism have The 9 Noble Virtues.

So I thought that Mithraism should have at least 7.

Why 7?

There are generally 7 rays of light from the images of Mithras as Sol. There are 7 stars sometimes seen on paintings on the underside of Mithras cape as he is slaying the Bull. There are 7 grades that one travels to become a priest of Mithras. There were originally 7 planets that the ancients knew about in the night sky. There are 7 stars in the Pleiades star cluster. Which also happens to be the place in the constellation of Taurus that Mithras plunges his sword in the act of creation.

So you can see there are some good reasons why 7 is a good number for the core set of virtues that we as Mithraists can use.

1. Courage
2. Honor
3. Truth
4. Wisdom
5. Humility
6. Compassion
7. Discipline

They don't have to be in any particular order.
This is just the order that flows easiest for me.